WhatsApp Image 2021-01-22 at 08.51.08

The thing about posture

To address the question of whether posture can be the cause of back pain, it is first necessary to clarify what optimal or good posture is. This is exactly where it starts to get difficult.

In a study, 295 physiotherapists were shown nine different pictures of 17 people with different sitting positions. The therapists were asked to choose which one represented the perfect posture. It turned out that 85% of the therapists chose one of two pictures.

The selection even varied between different countries. The authors conclude that there is no consitent agreement on the perfect posture. (O’Sullivan et al., 2012)

In 2010, Ledermann compiled scientific results that investigated a connection between pain and posture. His conclusion:

“The studies show a lack of association between work-related postures and low back pain. These postures include, for example, prolonged standing, bending, twisting, awkward postures, sitting (kneeling or squatting) at work, during prolonged work, and during leisure time”

Lederman, 2010: large summary of scientific results

Christensen and Hartvigsen (2008) also concluded in their meta-analysis that there is no relationship between spinal straightening and low back pain.

In another study, the posture of the cervical spine was examined more closely in pain-free subjects. A correlation was found between age and the change in posture. Accordingly, there is a natural age-specific change in posture, which is absolutely not pathological. (Chen et al. 2017)

Postural changes are also age-related.

Whether posture can influence pain is again another question. If one already has back pain, there are different studies that show that activity and thus also sitting for shorter period of time can generally lead to a reduction in pain. However, it should be noted that sitting alone is not the reason for the pain. (Lis et al., 2007)

If you remember, you too have certainly seize most of the postures in life. And these postures were not always automatically painful. It may be that you currently hold a posture and feel pain. However, this will not be the only reason for your pain.

The next posture is always the best.

However, what happens if you adopt a single posture and maintain it for 12 hours? Surely, even then, you will experience some kind of discomfort. This leads us to conclude that a single posture that is held for too long is not exactly beneficial. In this case, the blood flow decreases in different areas/tissues, causing a change in pH-value. This is measured by sensors that transmit an electrical impulse to the brain. This may cause the brain to interpret potential damage to the tissues and cause an uncomfortable sensation, which should make us move.

Therefore: The next posture is the best posture!

So alternate your posture, but don’t worry too much about posture.

Literaturverzeichnis
Chen, Y., Luo, J., Pan, Z. et al. The change of cervical spine alignment along with aging in asymptomatic population: a preliminary analysis. Eur Spine J 26, 2363–2371 (2017). https://doi.org/10.1007/s00586-017-5209-1.

Christensen ST, Hartvigsen J. Spinal curves and health: a systematic critical review of the epidemiological literature dealing with associations between sagittal spinal curves and health. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2008 Nov-Dec;31(9):690-714. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jmpt.2008.10.004. PMID: 19028253.

Lederman E. The myth of core stability. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2010 Jan;14(1):84-98. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jbmt.2009.08.001. PMID: 20006294.

Lis AM, Black KM, Korn H, Nordin M. Association between sitting and occupational LBP. Eur Spine J. 2007 Feb;16(2):283-98. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00586-006-0143-7. Epub 2006 May 31. PMID: 16736200; PMCID: PMC2200681.

O’Sullivan K, O’Sullivan P, O’Sullivan L, Dankaerts W. What do physiotherapists consider to be the best sitting spinal posture? Man Ther. 2012 Oct;17(5):432-7. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.math.2012.04.007. Epub 2012 May 17. PMID: 22608170.

Die Sache mit der Haltung

Um die Frage zu klären, ob Körperhaltung die Ursache für Rückenschmerzen sein kann, muss zunächst geklärt werden, was eine optimale oder gute Haltung ist. Genau hier fängt es schon an schwierig zu werden.

In einer Studie wurden 295 Physiotherapeuten/innen neun unterschiedliche Bilder von 17 Personen mit unterschiedlicher Sitzposition gezeigt. Die Therapeuten sollten auswählen, welches die perfekte Haltung darstellt. Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass 85% der Therapeuten eines von zwei Bildern auswählen. 

Die Auswahl variierte sogar zwischen unterschiedlichen Ländern. Die Autoren schliessen daraus, dass es keine einheitliche Übereinstimmung bzgl. der perfekten Haltung gibt. (O’Sullivan et al., 2012)

Ledermann trug im Jahre 2010 wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse, welche einen Zusammenhang zwischen Schmerzen und Körperhaltung untersuchten zusammen. Sein Fazit:

«Die Studien zeigen, dass ein Zusammenhang zwischen arbeitsbezogener Körperhaltung und Schmerzen im unteren Rückenbereich fehlt. Diese Körperhaltungen umfassen z.B. langes Stehen, Beugen, Drehen, ungünstige Körperhaltungen, (kniende oder hockende) Sitzhaltung am Arbeitsplatz, bei längerer Arbeit und in der Freizeit» 

Lederman, 2010: grossen Zusammenfassung der wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse

Auch Christensen und Hartvigsen (2008) kamen in ihrer Meta-Analyse zu dem Schluss, dass es keinen Zusammenhang zwischen der Aufrichtung der Wirbelsäule und Schmerzen im Bereich des Rückens gibt. 

In einer weiteren Studie wurde bei schmerzfreien Probanden die Haltung der Halswirbelsäule genauer untersucht. Dabei fand man einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Alter und der Haltungsveränderung. Es gibt demnach eine natürliche alterungsspezifische Veränderung der Haltung, welche absolut nicht pathologisch ist. (Chen et al. 2017)

Haltungsveränderungen sind auch altersabhängig.

Ob Haltung die Schmerzen beeinflussen kann, ist wiederum eine andere Frage. Sollte man schon Rückenschmerzen haben, gibt es unterschiedliche Studien, die zeigen, dass Aktivität und somit auch kürzeres Sitzen allgemein zu einer Schmerzreduktion führen kann. Dabei ist aber festzuhalten, dass Sitzen alleine nicht der Grund für die Schmerzen ist. (Lis et al., 2007)

Wenn Sie sich erinnern, dann haben auch Sie sicherlich schon die meisten Haltungen im Leben eingenommen. Und diese Haltungen waren nicht immer automatisch gleich schmerzhaft. Es kann zwar sein, dass Sie aktuell eine Haltung einnehmen und Schmerzen empfinden. Der alleinige Grund für Ihre Schmerzen wird dies jedoch nicht sein. 

Die nächste Haltung ist immer die Beste.

Was passiert jedoch, wenn Sie eine einzige Haltung einnehmen und diese für 12 Stunden beibehalten? Sicherlich werden sie auch dann irgendwelche Beschwerden bekommen. Das lässt uns daraus schliessen, dass eine Haltung, welche zu lange eingenommen wird, nicht gerade förderlich ist. Dabei verringert sich der Blutfluss in unterschiedlichen Bereichen/Geweben, wodurch eine Veränderung des pH-Wert entsteht. Dies wird von Sensoren gemessen, welche einen elektrischen Impuls in das Gehirn weiterleiten. Dadurch interpretiert das Gehirn eventuell eine potentielle Schädigung des Gewebes und verursacht ein unangenehmes Gefühl, was uns zum Bewegen bringen soll. 

Deshalb gilt für uns: Die nächste Haltung ist die beste Haltung! 

Wechseln Sie also Ihre Haltung ab, aber machen Sie sich nicht zu viele Gedanken über die Haltung. 

Literaturverzeichnis
Chen, Y., Luo, J., Pan, Z. et al. The change of cervical spine alignment along with aging in asymptomatic population: a preliminary analysis. Eur Spine J 26, 2363–2371 (2017). https://doi.org/10.1007/s00586-017-5209-1.

Christensen ST, Hartvigsen J. Spinal curves and health: a systematic critical review of the epidemiological literature dealing with associations between sagittal spinal curves and health. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2008 Nov-Dec;31(9):690-714. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jmpt.2008.10.004. PMID: 19028253.

Lederman E. The myth of core stability. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2010 Jan;14(1):84-98. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jbmt.2009.08.001. PMID: 20006294.

Lis AM, Black KM, Korn H, Nordin M. Association between sitting and occupational LBP. Eur Spine J. 2007 Feb;16(2):283-98. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00586-006-0143-7. Epub 2006 May 31. PMID: 16736200; PMCID: PMC2200681.

O’Sullivan K, O’Sullivan P, O’Sullivan L, Dankaerts W. What do physiotherapists consider to be the best sitting spinal posture? Man Ther. 2012 Oct;17(5):432-7. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.math.2012.04.007. Epub 2012 May 17. PMID: 22608170.