Exercise is medicine

A few weeks ago I attended a meeting at the FH in Münchenstein together with other therapists and a doctor. We exchanged ideas about what content should be taught in the respective classes with regard to knee joint arthrosis …

As a lecturer, I made it clear to myself that osteoarthritis must always be viewed individually. Every patient has a different perception of pain. However, the aim must be to build up the musculature with the help of exercises. At the end of my lecture, the doctor came up, looked at me and said to me: “If you had told me this two years ago, I wouldn’t have believed a word you said. Since I have been doing strength exercises regularly myself for two years now, I am convinced of the effectiveness of the movement”.

Being active is the most important thing to improve health at any age. This is nothing new. Exercise promotes natural growth and development, makes you feel better, works better, sleeps better and reduces the risk of suffering from many different chronic diseases.

Inactivity, on the other hand, is a major problem and a contributing factor to many different chronic diseases. Inactivity ranks 4th among the causes of death after high blood pressure, smoking and high blood sugar. In 2008, more than half (56%) of the adult population in the US did not meet the minimum activity levels required. Positive effects start immediately after training and are present even after short episodes. Scientific studies show that a healthy lifestyle requires an average of 150 minutes of weekly training/physical activity and strength training two days a week.

Even if you have certainly read it before. Here again the influence of movement on life:

Regular activity lowers / reduces …

  • the risk of death in older people by 40%.
  • the mortality and risk of breast cancer recurrence by approximately 50%.
  • the risk of colorectal cancer by over 60%.
  • the risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease by 40%
  • the risk of suffering from heart disease and high blood pressure by about 40%.
  • the blood pressure at rest
  • the risk of a heart attack by 27%
  • the blood lipid values
  • the risk of developing type II diabetes by 58%
  • Symptoms of back pain, fibromyalgia

Symptoms of back pain, furthermore, activity helps with depression, slows down the aging process, improves the quality of sleep and bone density, increases the basal metabolic rate (thus helping with weight loss) …

Do we need even more reasons for the best medicine we can give ourselves? Every beginning is hard! However, we can start small. For example, let’s start avoiding elevators and escalators again. Usually you are not much slower but our health is much better. For more intensive and longer exercise it is important to choose something you enjoy. Then there is a chance that this important activity is carried out over a longer period of time and does not immediately fall asleep again. Because falling asleep is inactivity and we do not want that!

Bibliography
Strickland JC, Smith MA. The anxiolytic effects of resistance exercise. Front Psychol. Jul 10;5:753. 2014.
Westcott WL. Resistance training is medicine: effects of strength training on health.
Curr Sports Med Rep. Jul-Aug;11(4):209-16. 2012.
www.exerciseismedicine.org

Exercise is medicine

Vor einigen Wochen nahm ich zusammen mit weiteren Therapeuten und einem Arzt an einer Besprechung an der FH in Münchenstein teil. Wir haben uns darüber ausgetauscht, welche Inhalte man in Bezug auf Kniegelenkarthrose in den jeweiligen Unterrichten vermittelten sollte …

Ich als Dozent stellte für mich klar, dass eine Arthrose stets individuell anzusehen ist. Jeder Patient hat eine unterschiedliche Wahrnehmung den Schmerz betreffend. Ziel muss es jedoch sein, dass die Muskulatur mit Hilfe von Übungen aufgebaut wird. Am Ende meines Vortrags meldete sich der Arzt, schaute mich an und sagte zu mir: «Wenn du mir das vor zwei Jahren erzählt hättest, hätte ich dir kein Wort davon geglaubt. Da ich seit mittlerweile zwei Jahren selber regelmässig Kraftübungen durchführe, bin ich von der Effektivität der Bewegung überzeugt.»

Aktiv zu sein ist das Wichtigste, um in jedem Alter die Gesundheit zu verbessern. Das ist nichts Neues. Durch Bewegung werden das natürliche Wachstum sowie die natürliche Entwicklung gefördert, man fühlt sich besser, funktioniert besser, schläft besser und reduziert dabei noch das Risiko an vielen unterschiedlichen chronischen Erkrankungen zu leiden.

Inaktivität auf der anderen Seite ist ein grosses Problem und ein beitragender Faktor bzgl. vieler unterschiedlicher chronischer Krankheiten. Inaktivität landet auf Platz 4 der Gründe, die zum Tode führen, nach Bluthochdruck, Rauchen und hohem Blutzucker. 2008 haben über die Hälfte (56%) der Erwachsenen US-Einwohner nicht die geforderten Mindestbedingungen bzgl. Aktivität erreicht. Positive Effekte fangen sofort nach dem Training an und sind auch nach kurzen Episoden schon vorhanden. Wissenschaftliche Studie zeigen auf, dass für einen gesunden Lebensstil durchschnittlich 150 Minuten wöchentliches Training/körperliche Aktivität und Krafttraining an zwei Tagen in der Woche benötigt werden.

Auch wenn man es bestimmt schon einmal gelesen hat. Hier nochmal der Einfluss von Bewegung auf das Leben:

Regelmässige Aktivität senkt/reduziert …

  • das Sterberisiko bei älteren Menschen um 40%
  • die Sterblichkeit und das Risiko eines Brustkrebsrezidivs um ca. 50%
  • das Darmkrebsrisiko um über 60%
  • das Risiko an Alzheimer zu erkranken um 40%
  • das Risiko an Herzkrankheiten und Bluthochdruck zu leiden um ca. 40%
  • den Blutdruck in Ruhe
  • das Risiko eines Herzinfarktes um 27%
  • die Blutfettwerte
  • das Risiko Diabetes Typ II zu entwickeln um 58%
  • Symptome bei Rückenschmerzen, Fibromyalgie

Desweitern hilft Aktivität bei Depressionen, verlangsamt den Alterungsprozess, verbessert die Schlafqualität und Knochendichte, erhöht den Grundumsatz (hilft somit bei der Gewichtsreduktion) …

Bedarf es noch mehr Gründe für die beste Medizin, die wir uns selber verabreichen können? Jeder Anfang ist schwer! Jedoch können wir auch klein anfangen. Beginnen wir zum Beispiel Fahrstühle und Rolltreppen wieder zu meiden. Meist ist man nicht erheblich langsamer aber unserer Gesundheit ist damit sehr gedient. Für intensivere und längere Bewegung ist es wichtig, dass man sich etwas aussucht, an dem man Spass hat. Dann ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit auch gegeben, dass diese wichtige Aktivität über längere Zeit ausgeführt wird und nicht gleich wieder einschläft. Denn Einschlafen ist Inaktivität und das wollen wir nicht!

Literaturverzeichnis
Strickland JC, Smith MA. The anxiolytic effects of resistance exercise. Front Psychol. Jul 10;5:753. 2014.
Westcott WL. Resistance training is medicine: effects of strength training on health.
Curr Sports Med Rep. Jul-Aug;11(4):209-16. 2012.
www.exerciseismedicine.org

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar